Saturday School: All you need to know about Mubadala World Tennis Championship

When tennis tournaments at Qatar and Dubai were already spreading the popularity of the sport in the middle east, there emerged yet another tournament in 2009 which intensified the sport’s propagation. Formerly known as the Capitala World Tennis Championship, we now enter the 10th edition of the Mubadala World Tennis Championship (MWTC).
Thr Beginning
In 2004, the Zayed Sports City was established with Abu Dhabi International Tennis Centre being one of its main centers of attraction. It has a seating capacity of 5000 on its Centre Court and 600 on Court 2. The first event held at the venue was an ATP Futures tournament held in 2006.
2009 – Capitala World Tennis Championship
This was the first edition of the MWTC. Flash and Capitala partnered for a new tennis season through an exhibition tournament. Capitala World Tennis Championship saw Andy Murray win the event after beating Roger Federer, James Blake, and Rafa Nadal.
2010 – 2016
The next editions of MWTC proved to be promising as every tournament saw some of the top 10 players contending for the title. 2010 & 2011 saw Rafa Nadal defeat Robin Soderling and Roger Federer in the finals. The next three years the tournament was won by Novak Djokovic. In all three finals, he faced Spaniards (David Ferrer in 2011 & 2013, Nicolas Almagro in 2012).
2012 edition poster
2015 was the only year when there was a winner without a final being contested. Andy Murray won the title after getting a walkover from Novak Djokovic. Since the past two years, it’s Rafa Nadal who has been the victor. He defeated Milos Raonic and David Goffin in the finals.
The tenth edition saw many top players withdraw from the players’ list due to injuries. The initial line up saw the names of Stan Wawrinka, Milos Raonic, Novak Djokovic participate in the event. But later they were replaced by Kevin Anderson, Andrey Rublev, and former World No.1 Andy Murray. The 2017 edition will also see a woman’s match for the first time. Serena Williams marks her comeback to the circuit post-pregnancy where she will face Jelena Ostapenko on the final day of the event.
The winner of the tournament receives $2,50,000 and a trophy designed by Lasvit.
Mubadala Community Cup
The MWTC provides a range of special services for the fans right from holding coaching clinics to autograph sessions. The Mubadala Community Cup is one such feature wherein the amateur players battle it out in draws featuring various age groups. The winners are awarded a special spot in the coaching clinics.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /srv/users/serverpilot/apps/trolltennis/public/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 1008


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here