Swift Wheels: Wheelchair Tennis Masters

The year-end championship of the wheelchair tennis circuit is known as the Wheelchair Tennis Masters. This event initiated back in 1999 for the men and women in the singles category. 5 years later, the event was open for quads which sees men and women face each other on the court together. In 2000, the event included doubles as well.
Just like the ATP Masters and WTA Championships, the Wheelchair Tennis Masters sees 8 of the best players of the season compete in a round-robin format. In the quads category, the best six players of the season are chosen. In doubles, 8 men’s team, 6 women’s team and 4 quads team play each other for the year-end title.
Past records
1. Most year-end single’s titles:
Men: Robin Ammerlan (6)
Women: Esther Vergeer (14)
Quads: David Wagner (7)
2. Most year-end doubles titles:
Men: Stephane Houdet (5)
Women: Esther Vergeer (9)
Quads: Nick Taylor & David Wagner (9)
2017 Wheelchair Tennis Singles Masters
The Loughborough University Tennis Centre is all set to host the Wheelchair Tennis Masters for the first time.
On the basis of their current rank, the men’s singles entries are :
1. Gustavo Fernandez, who won the Australian Open this year.
2. Alfie Hewett, who won the Roland Garros this year.
3. Stephane Houdet, who won the US Open this year.
4. Gordon Reid, who won three of the four grand slams in the doubles category this year.
5. Nicolas Peifer, who has won 5 titles this year.
6. Stefan Olsson, who won the Wimbledon this year.
7. Joachim Gerard, who is defending his Masters title successfully since the past 2 years.
8. Shingo Kunieda, winner of 20 grand slam singles titles and 3 singles Masters titles in the past.
The women’s entry list in order of their current ranking positions is as follows:
1. Yui Kamiji, who won the Australian Open, French Open and US Open this year.
2. Diede de Groot, who won the Wimbledon this year.
3. Sabine Ellerbrock, who was the finalist at Wimbledon and French Open this year.
4. Marjolein Buis, former World No.1 in doubles and won 2 singles titles this year.
5. Aniek Van Koot, who won the Australian Open in doubles and semifinalist at Wimbledon and French Open in singles.
6. Lucy Shuker, who has won 4 titles this year.
7. Kgothatso Montjane , who has won 3 titles this year.
8. Katharina Kruger, who has won 3 titles this year.
The quads list in terms of their ranks are:
1. David Wagner, who is the defending Masters champion and US Open winner this year.
2. Andy Lapthorne, who was the US Open and Australian Open finalist this year.
3. Dylan Alcott, who won the Australian Open this year.
4. Lucas Sithole, who won 2 titles this year.
5. Heath Davidson, who has won 3 titles this year.
6. Sam Schroder, who has won 4 titles this year.
2017 Wheelchair Tennis Doubles Masters 
Gordon Reid and Alfie Hewett’s doubles team who captured the doubles title at Wimbledon and US Open this year won the year-end doubles championships after defeating the French pairing of Stephane Houdet and Nicolas Peifer. After a set and a break down, the British duo won the match in a dramatic fashion of 1-6, 6-4,7-5.
In the women’s doubles, Marjolein Buis and Diede de Groot of Netherlands won the title after defeating Sabine Ellerbrock and Aniek Van Koot 6-2,6-4.
The Wheelchair Tennis Singles Masters begins on 29th November 2017 with the finals scheduled on 3rd December 2017.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /srv/users/serverpilot/apps/trolltennis/public/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 1008


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here