Saturday School: ITF Women’s Circuit

In 1993, the ITF introduced a developmental circuit for the women. The circuit was fabricated for the players to have a stronger competition amongst themselves. This was made possible as the women then had to gain as many points as possible in order to qualify for the main tour level tournaments. In 2012, the WTA introduced the 125K series which was a level above the ITF circuit and below the main tour level tournaments.
Image result for downtennis classic
The ITF tournaments are categorized based on the prize money given by each tournament. There are hundreds of ITF Women’s tournaments spread globally. Players from around 36 countries participate in the tier of the women’s tennis. The highest prize money awarded is $100,000 and the lowest level tournament offers $15,000. The winner of the topmost tier of the ITF Women’s circuit is awarded 150 points.
In 2017, the tournaments that are offering $100,000 are (until June 2017):
Dow Tennis Classic (Midland, USA)
Hotspring Peninsula (Anning, China)
Cagnes-Sur-Mer (Cagnes-Sur-Mer, France)
Trnava (Trnava, Slovakia)
Marseille (Marseille, France)
Surbiton (Surbiton, Great Britain)
Southsea (Southsea, Great Britain)
In 2016, 572 tournaments were a part of the ITF Women’s Circuit. Katharina Hobgarski of Germany ended the circuit with 8 titles. Currently, Maria-Teresa Torro-Flor of Spain is on the top of the leaderboard with 3 titles.
Previous articleSaturday School: WTA 125K Series
Next articleSwift Wheels: Quad legends
- From Ahmedabad, India - Editor & Writer of "Saturday School" series of articles on Troll Tennis - Writer at Neon Sports Academy & - Writer at - 3 'T's of my life: Teeth (Dentist), Tennis (Writer), Tabla (Percussionist)

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /srv/users/serverpilot/apps/trolltennis/public/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 1008


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here