Brisbane Open


Place: Brisbane, Australia

Tournament type: 250

Surface: Plexicushion

Defending champion (singles)
Roger Federer

Defending champion (doubles)
Jamie Murray and John Peers

Most singles titles
Lleyton Hewitt – 3 (1998, 2000, 2014)

Most doubles titles
Todd Woodbridge & Mark Woodforde – 3 (1993, 1996, 2000)


The Brisbane Open is a professional tennis tournament played on outdoor hard courts in Brisbane, Queensland. It is part of the ATP World Tour 250 series. It is held annually in January at the Queensland Tennis Centre just before the first Grand Slam tournament of the season, the Australian Open.


Brisbane has had a chaotic history, with several inclusions and exclusions from the World Tour. The tournament was held in Adelaide until 2008, only moving to Brisbane the year after. Radek Štěpánek won the first title to be held in Brisbane, defeating Fernando Verdasco in the 2009 final. Brisbane is notable for being the tournament where Lleyton Hewitt launched his professional career, when he won the title as a 16-year old in 1998. Hewitt would go on to become World No. 1 within 3 years, and remains the youngest male to ever be ranked at the top.

RSS Posts About Brisbane Open

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /srv/users/serverpilot/apps/trolltennis/public/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 1008


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here