Qatar Open


Place: Doha, Qatar

Tournament type: Open

Surface: Outdoor hard

Defending champion (singles) : David Ferrer

Defending champion (doubles): Juan Mónaco & Rafael Nadal

Most singles titles: Roger Federer – 3 (2005, 2006, 2011)

Most doubles titles: Rafael Nadal – 4 (2005, 2009, 2011, 2015)


The Qatar Open, currently known as the Qatar ExxonMobil Open for sponsorship reasons, is a professional tennis tournament played on outdoor hard courts. It is currently part of the ATP World Tour 250 series. It is held annually in January at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex in Doha, Qatar, since 1993. The Qatar Open has been the site of the ceremonial opening of the ATP World Tour season since 2009.


In 2009, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer kicked off the season on a tennis court situated on a boat off Doha Bay. The following year saw the duo return, this time playing on a “magic carpet” tennis court in the Souq Waqif. In 2011, the two came back and opened the new season on a court laid in the water of Doha Bay. The 2012 season was once again launched by both Federer and Nadal. This time, they played on a tennis court in the Katara amphitheatre at sunset, amidst more than 4000 burning Roman candles.

RSS Posts About Doha Open

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /srv/users/serverpilot/apps/trolltennis/public/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 1008


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here