Hall of Fame Tennis Championships


Place : Newport, United States

Tournament Type : ATP World Tour 250

surface : Grass

About Hall of Fame Tennis Championships

PRIZE MONEY: $500,000
DURATION: 13-07-2015 to 19-07-2015
The Hall of fame tennis championships is a part of the ATP world tour 250 series and dates back to 1976. Breaking the stereotype of all the grass tournaments being held in Europe, it is the only professional tournament featuring grass courts to be played in America. This event hosts an induction ceremony for the hall of fame every year which usually features before the start of the semi-finals. As an immediate successor to Wimbledon, this tournament has seen very few top ranked players participate because of its bottleneck schedule.
The legends of tennis namely Fabrice Santoro, Vijay Amritraj, Mark Philippoussis, John Isner and Lleyton Hewitt have been champions at this glorious event. The singles draw begins with 32 players and it also features a doubles tournament. Bob Bryan/Mike Bryan emerged as the doubles champions in 2001 and 2002.
The last grass title of the season in fray will be defended by the current singles champion and 2002 Wimbledon winner Lleyton Hewitt who also happens to hold the doubles title with his the-then partner Chris Guccione.

RSS Posts About Hall of Fame Tennis Championships

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /srv/users/serverpilot/apps/trolltennis/public/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 1008